Fern Chapel School Board

1%20FFcovericon2_2.gifA  local school board, made up of three members, were elected from the ratepayers of the district. They hired the teachers and looked after any other business pertaining to the school. Meetings were held several times a year or whenever a problem or need arose. The teacher's salary was paid from the school taxes collected, plus a government grant.

Some of the members of the local board over the years were: The first one was T.E. Clydesdale. Others were Albert and Reg. Quayle, Mrs. Bob Taylor, John Ockerman, Joe Martin, John Salmon, Chris Nelson, Eddy Wise, Clifford Fuller, John WardIe, Fred Lorenson, Nelson Goetling, John Hillebrand and Carl Nelson.